Norwood Scale 1

Norwood Scale 1

The Norwood scale, also known as the Hamilton-Norwood scale is a classification system that uses a 1 to 7 scale, to help doctors measure the extent of male pattern baldness. It was first introduced by Dr. James Hamilton in 1951, after observing the male-pattern baldness signs in over 300 men. However, it was updated later by O’Tar T. Norwood in the 1970s, and it’s now referred to as the Norwood Scale.

Most cosmetic clinics are now using this scale to diagnose the extent of baldness, discuss treatment options, and measure the effectiveness of treatment. To help you understand your case better, we are going to discuss Norwood Scale 1 in this article. However, since this scale is a classification system for male pattern baldness, many believe that every stage is an indicator of hair loss; but it is important to know that this is not right, Norwood 1 is the control stage, where no or a little hair loss is present.

How does Norwood scale 1 look like?

As we mentioned before, the Norwood Scale is containing seven numbered types. You should know that the higher the number is on the Norwood Scale, the more advanced the patient hair loss condition is. That is why, when we talk about men with a hair loss pattern that’s classified as Type 1 on the Norwood Scale, we mean they don’t have any minimal or recession of the hairline, they also don’t suffer from any visible loss of hair on the crown area of the head.

However, if you have a Norwood Type 1 make baldness pattern, you know that you got the best hair density in your lifetime. Unfortunately, most men will start losing hair as they get older, and will get hair on Norwood Scale, while others may maintain a Norwood Type 1 hair pattern for their entire lives. 

In order to delay hair loss, you can maintain a healthy diet and lifestyle, use certain medication, and watch your hair thinning over the years, and of course, consult your doctor about any concerns you have in mind.

Can Norwood scale 1 get a hair transplant?

Since Norwood Scale 1 normally represents an adolescent hairline, that is not a balding first stage, it is actually the first stage for maturing and turning your hairline from a teenage hairline to an adult male hairline. Doctors do not recommend doing hair transplants for people who are on Norwood 1 stage of losing hair, because doing a hair transplant this early would have negative results, especially since doctors need to know how your hair loss will progress over time. 

However, if you suffer from any hair loss or thinning hair at that stage, you can treat them by using one or both of the only FDA-approved medications, Propecia and/or Rogaine. Those medications have proved to be effective in fighting hair loss in its early stages, 90% of the patients using it, report that it is very useful for thinning hair problems. However, we need to tell you that these medications’ effects will fade if you stop using them and your normal balding process will continue to progress.

How many grafts are needed for Norwood scale 1?

As we have already mentioned, the first stage in the Hamilton-Norwood scale, also referred to as Norwood 1, is not balding. It is a control stage, where the patient has a head full of hair, with very little signs of hair loss, or even no signs at all, and that is why there is no need for doing a hair transplant surgery during this time of your life, and that is why you don’t need any grafts for Norwood scale 1 case.

However, you need to keep in mind that the Norwood scale does give doctors a perspective about the numbers of needed grafts for a hair transplant operation that restores hair density and fix blading and thinning hair. These given numbers are approximate, which mean that they can change due to each patient case, especially if there are differences in hair density of the healthy hair areas in your head, you know that the number of grafts is not limited, and here we see the importance of Norwood scale.